Life Lessons

The High Priestess teaches me

And has for years

She lets me know

I’ll be alright

Always telling me to put up a fight

Spirituality is what I seek

Even if I am looked at like a freak

Knowledge of our ancestors

Passed on through centuries

I strive for harmony

Which, for me

Comes through sobriety

And being alright with me

Accepting life positively

Looking for lessons

In everything

I know I am capable

The start is sobriety 

The fight between my heart and head

Because my head wants me dead

The elders led me out of the dark

And the disease is like a hungry shark

Waiting patiently

Stocking me

Watching me to see if I’ll slip

#poetry

#sobriety

Leave a Reply

